May, 2024
May 2024
Yvonne Award 2024 by OncoDaily
Apr 22, 2024, 11:59

Yvonne Award 2024 by OncoDaily

The Yvonne Award by OncoDaily, symbolizing the strength and longevity of the yew tree, honors exceptional achievements in oncology with its unique Y-shaped sculpture that embodies resilience.

Designed to recognize young innovators and leaders advancing cancer care, the Yvonne Award celebrates excellence and innovation in the field.

Eligibility and Nomination Requirements

  • Candidates must be within 10 years post-faculty appointment or after receiving their terminal degree
  • Both trainees and seasoned professionals are eligible to be nominated.
  • It is mandatory for the awardee to attend the ASCO Annual Meeting and Yvonne Award Ceremony on May 31st in person
  • Nominations should include a CV (limited to 2 pages)

Yvonne Award Categories

  • Breakthrough Research
  • Global Oncology
  • Community Oncology
  • Leadership
  • Mentorship
  • Challenging the Status Quo

The deadline for the nominations is May 10, 2024.

Please, submit your nominations for the Yvonne Award through the following link.

Or send the following information to [email protected]

  • Name and Email of the Nominee
  • Name and Email of the Nominator
  • Please, describe why the nominee should receive Yvonne Award (max. 100 words)
  • In which category you are nominating the candidate (only one)?
  • Please, upload the most updated CV of the nominee.

Yvonne Award Nomination Committee

2024 Co-chairs

Lillian Siu: Director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program and Co-Director of the Bras and Family Drug Development Program, Clinical Lead for the Tumor Immunotherapy Program, BMO Chair in Precision Genomics at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto, 2024–2025 President-Elect of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), 2024 ASCO David Karnofsky Memorial Award Recipient

Giuseppe Curigliano: Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Milano, Chief of the Clinical Division of Early Drug Development at European Institute of Oncology, Chair of the ESMO Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee, Member of the Italian Higher Health Council



Larry Norton: Senior Vice President of the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Medical Director of the Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center, Norna S. Sarofim Chair in Clinical Oncology, Professor of Medicine, Weill-Cornell Medical College, Founder and Scientific Director of the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, Past-President of ASCO and Past-Chair of the ASCO Conquer Cancer Foundation, 2004 ASCO David Karnofsky Memorial Award Recipient

Lidia Schapira: Professor of Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine, Director of the Cancer Survivorship Program, Faculty Co-Director for Clinical Research and Clinical Trials, Office of Cancer Health Equity at Stanford Cancer Institute, Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology

Greg Kalemkerian: Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan, Associate Division Chief for Faculty Development & Education and Associate Director of the Hem/Onc Fellowship Program, Medical School, Chair of the NCCN Small Cell Lung Cancer Guideline Panel

Leo Mascarenhas: Division Chief and Director, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology, Cedars-Sinai Guerin Children’s, Director, Sarcoma Program, Cedars-Sinai Cancer, Professor of Pediatrics, Cedar-Sinai Medical Center

Justin Stebbing: Editor-in-Chief of Oncogene, Visiting Professor of Cancer Medicine and Oncology, Imperial College of London, Professor of Biomedical Sciences, ARU, Cambridge

Piotr Wysocki: Professor and the Head of the Clinical Oncology Department at Jagiellonian University-Medical College, Past-President of the Polish Society of Clinical Oncology, Chair of the ASCO European Regional Council

Liana Safaryan: Chief of the Department of Oncology, Yeolyan Hematology and Oncology Center

Marina Konopleva: Professor of Oncology and Molecular Pharmacology, Director of the Leukemia Program, Co-Director of the Blood Cancer Institute at Montefiore Einstein, Professor of Leukemia Department at MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dinesh Pendharkar: Director of Oncology, Sarvodaya Hospital Faridabad, Chairman of the National Cancer Society, Past-President of the Indian Society of Oncology, Past-President of the Indian Society of Medical & Paediatric Oncology (ISMPO)

Maite Bourlon: Associate Professor and Head of the Urologic Oncology Clinic at Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición Salvador Zubirán, Director of the Genitourinary Cancers Program at Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Chair-Elect of the ASCO IDEA Steering Group

Nazik Hammad: Professor in the Division of Hematology-Oncology at St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto, Chair of the Education and Training Committee of the African Organization in Research and Training in Cancer (AORTIC), Executive Member of the Global Oncology Program at Queen’s University

Aparna Parikh: Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Director of the Global Cancer Care Program, Massachusetts General Hospital

Ghassan Abou-Alfa: Professor of Medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and Weill Medical College at Cornell University, Immediate Ex-Chair of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Hepatobiliary Task Force

Douglas Flora: Editor in Chief of AI in Precision Oncology, Executive Medical Director of Oncology Services at St. Elizabeth Healthcare, American Cancer Society Board Vice-Chair, ACCC Exec Board Treasurer

Onyinye Balogun: Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology at Weill Cornell Medicine, Co-Founder/CMO Mission-Driven Tech

Herbert Loong: Clinical Associate Professor at the Department of Clinical Oncology, Deputy Medical Director, Phase 1 Clinical Trial Centre, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Honorary Consultant, Department of Clinical Oncology, Prince of Wales Hospital, Chair-Elect of the ASCO International Committee

Miriam Mutebi: President of the African Organisation for Research and Training in Cancer (AORTIC), Immediate Past President for the Kenya Society of Hematology and Oncology (KESHO), Member of the Board of Directors of the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery, Aga Khan University Hospital in Nairobi, Kenya, Co-founder of the Pan African Women’s Association of Surgeons, 2024 ASCO Humanitarian Award Recipient

About OncoDaily

OncoDaily was founded in 2023. It is a US-based oncology media platform, which features the latest news, insights, and patient stories from the world of oncology. Within a short period of time it became one of the leading oncology media platforms globally.

OncoDaily gathers content from various sources, including social media posts from renowned oncologists from all over the world, news from oncology societies and cancer centers, patient and survivor stories, and career-related information for professionals.

The mission of OncoDaily is to empower patients, survivors, and professionals with the knowledge and inspiration they need to fight cancer. The motto of OncoDaily is “Cancer doesn’t take a day off – neither do we”.