April, 2024
April 2024
ASCO announces the recipients of 2024 Special Awards
Mar 21, 2024, 17:54

ASCO announces the recipients of 2024 Special Awards

ASCO shared on their X page:

“Along with Conquer Cancer Foundation, we congratulate the recipients of our 2024 Special Awards!

Allen Lichter Visionary Leader Award
Robert A. Winn
Director of the VCU Massey Comprehensive Cancer Center

ASCO-American Cancer Society Cancer Prevention Award
Smita Bhatia
White Endowed Professor in Pediatric Oncology at University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

B.J. Kennedy Geriatric Oncology Award
William Dale
George Tsai Family Chair in Geriatric Oncology in Honor of Arti Hurria, Vice Chair for academic affairs in the Department of Supportive Care Medicine at City of Hope

David Karnofsky Memorial Award
Lillian L. Siu
Director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, and the President-Elect of AACR

Excellence in Equity Award, Endowed by the American Cancer Society
Lori J. Pierce
Professor of radiation oncology and Vice Provost for academic and faculty affairs at the University of Michigan

Excellence in Teaching Award
Philip Kantoff
CEO and cofounder of Convergent Therapeutics

Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award
Lisa Newman
Founder and Executive Director for the International Center for the Study of Breast Cancer Subtypes, headquartered at Weill Cornell Medicine

Humanitarian Awards
Satish Gopal
Director of the Center for Global Health (CGH) at the NCI 
Miriam Mutebi
Consultant Breast Surgical Oncologist and Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery at the Aga Khan University Hospital in Nairobi, Kenya

Patient Advocate Award
Jill Feldman
Co-founder of the EGFR Resisters and Deputy Chair of IASLC’s Patient Advisory Board

Pediatric Oncology Award
Richard Gorlick
Division Head and Department Chair of Pediatrics at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Science of Oncology Award
Jennifer A. Pietenpol
Professor of Biochemistry at Vanderbilt University, Chief Scientific and Strategy Officer and Executive Vice President for Research at Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Walther Cancer Foundation Supportive Oncology Award
Janet L. Abrahm
Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and an Institute physician practicing palliative care at DFCI and Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH)

Hologic, Inc Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award
Sharon H. Giordano
Colin Powell Chair for Cancer Research, Chair of the Department of Health Services Research

International Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award  
Ines Vaz-Luis
Research Director of the Interdisciplinary Department for Patient Pathway Organization (DIOPP) at Gustave Roussy

Further information.
Source: ASCO/X